Other Lives: Best of 2009

Well, I think I am going use this post to highlight my favorite record from 2009. I will list a bunch of very good records in a later post.

Edging out three other records that were probably the best of the year in their respective (sub)genres, the self-titled release from Other Lives grabbed my attention from first listen, and for the remainder of last year. The lush arrangements tie the whole record together into a wonderfully cohesive presentation. The wise and haunting voice of Jesse Tabish floats over the instrumentation like clouds blanketing mountain peaks. OK maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but maybe you still get the idea. The songs come across as highly philisophical in concept. And the song that is my favorite from 2009, Paper Cities, is a good example of this. Often when a band tries to sound this sophisticated on this many levels, they don’t. But Other Lives self-titled release sounds at times like this five-piece set out to transcend music and didn’t miss by much more than anybody else ever has. Below is a great version of Paper Cities.

3 Comments

  1. paper cities burning it actually felt like rain great lyrics

  2. Best band I saw in 2009…..Other Lives played Lollapalooza and knocked the socks off of anyone that was there….It was raining all over them….sooo epic. This band will change music. I heard a new demo track through a friend that knows them……un–freakin believable….just wait….

    • My wife and I were lucky. Strangely enough, we saw them, not knowing it was them, but obviously musicians, checking into the airport Hilton in Seattle while on vacation in with may in-laws in June. Later I picked up the local alt rag and decided that The Wooden Birds at Chop Suey (venue) was the show to see that night. Well guess who was the opening band? Even my in-laws were quite impressed and bought a CD.

      I agree, they’re great now, and if we’re lucky they’re best days are still ahead of them.

      On the way out of the hotel parking lot the next day my father in-law rolled down the window and told them “great show last night.” They must have thought they were dreaming. An old man at the airport Hilton compliments them on last night’s show, and there were only 30 to 40 people in the place.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment